Photo by Dan Bercasio

Two recent events inspired me to write this entry. June 1 was declared Go Barefoot Day ( a charity event). and yesterday, Mar Roxas was appointed as DoTC Secretary and anointed himself as the kings of “Trains, Boats and Planes.” But why not WALK, and better yet, go barefoot. Yes, that is rhetorical question. But I am joining a global movement called Go Barefoot for sustainability and physical fitness. Besides, it reminds me of my childhood.

The Definitive Guide to Going Barefoot  has an extensive article about the benefits of the going barefoot, but I am quoting the conclusion below:

“We already know that wearing shoes leads to injury such as plantar fasciitis, shortened calf muscles, knee osteoarthritis, tight ilial tibial bands, and lower back pain, among many other things. We also already know that running barefoot takes about 4% less energy than running with shoes. So, here are some of the other benefits of barefooting.

  • Running or walking barefoot will help to naturally improve your gait and carriage, which will improve your performance. More effeciency = more speed.
  • Going barefoot will help to develop strength in the muscles and ligaments in your feet, legs, and hips that are inhibited and disintegrated when wearing shoes.
  • You won’t get athletes foot or other odd foot odors if you aren’t getting sweaty from unventilated shoes.
  • There’s nothing like walking on sand or grass in your bare feet. Seriously, the more you can enjoy nature, the better for your well-being.
  • It’s free. I don’t even want to know how much I’ve spent on high class running shoes in the past… going barefoot will save you a lot of money!
3 responses »

  1. Marilou says:

    I go barefoot wherever I safely can on the beach, grass, and around the house. It’s like natural reflexology. However, my late Lola warned me about going barefoot on soil in case I get parasites and on the roads in case I get hurt with sharp objects.

    • Jose Silva says:

      I walk barefoot 90% of the time on roads, soil, everywhere. I never got parasites or got hurt by sharp objects. And walking barefoot is special; the contact, the feeling… the freedom.

  2. Yes, of course, safety should be a primary consideration.

Leave a Reply

